Republic of the Philippines


A world class and independent electric power industry regulator that equitably promotes and protects the interests of consumers and other stakeholders, to enable the delivery of long-term benefits that contribute to sustained economic growth and an improved quality of life.

ERC meets with AIEC

28 February 2023/ERC-Planning and Public Information Service

ERC Chairperson and CEO Monalisa Dimalanta with Association of Philippine Electric Cooperatives (APEC) Representative, Hon. Sergio C. Dagooc, Association of Isolated Electric Cooperatives, Inc. (AIEC) President, General Manager (GM) Rene M. Fajilagutan, Executive Director/General Manager of Philippine Rural Electric Cooperatives Association (PHILRECA), Atty. Janeene Depay-Colingan and officials and members of AIEC.

PASIG CITY– The Association of Isolated Electric Cooperatives, Inc. (AIEC) was in full force attendance last 24 February 2023 when they paid a courtesy visit to the Energy Regulatory Commission (ERC) to formally introduce AIEC and its members to ERC Chairperson and CEO Monalisa C. Dimalanta.

Operational and regulatory concerns such as budget deficits and shortages in the procurement of fuel, rationalization of tariffs, discontinuance of Universal Charge Missionary Electrification (UCME) and roadblocks related to achieving total electrification in their respective franchise areas were discussed during the meeting.

The AIEC likewise sought the support of the Commission on the further enhancement of its regulatory framework to enable small power utilities group (SPUG) electric cooperatives (ECs) to be both responsive and proactive in providing reliable and affordable electricity service to their consumers.

The Island ECs present were GMs and/or senior managers from Aurora Electric Cooperative, Inc. (AURELCO), Basilan Electric Cooperative, Inc. (BASELCO), Busuanga Island Electric Cooperative, Inc. (BISELCO), Camotes Electric Cooperative, Inc. (CELCO), Davao del Sur Electric Cooperative, Inc. (DASURECO), Dinagat Island Electric Cooperative, Inc. (DIELCO), Kalinga-Apayao Electric Cooperative, Inc. (KAELCO), Lubang Electric Cooperative, Inc. (LUBELCO), Marinduque Electric Cooperative, Inc. (MARELCO), Northern Davao Electric Cooperative, Inc. (NORDECO), Occidental Mindoro Electric Cooperative, Inc. (OMECO), Oriental Mindoro Electric Cooperative, Inc. (ORMECO), Quezon II Electric Cooperative, Inc. (QUEZELCO II), Romblon Electric Cooperative, Inc. (ROMELCO), Sulu Electric Cooperative, Inc. (SULECO), Sultan Kudarat Electric Cooperative, Inc. (SUKELCO), Tawi-tawi Electric Cooperative, Inc. (TAWELCO) and Tabas Island Electric Cooperative, Inc. (TIELCO).

“The Commission is honored to have this opportunity to meet with AIEC and engage in a very productive dialogue to address the situation in our island ECs. The meeting provided us with valuable firsthand information for the ERC to map out the necessary action plan to aid them regarding their current challenges and provide them with a conducive and responsive regulatory environment,” said Chairperson and CEO Dimalanta.


© 2023 - Energy Regulatory Commission